ASIST Scholarship

General Information

ASIST-Logo-webThe Adult Students in Scholastic Transition (ASIST) is available to adults facing economic, social, or physical challenges, who are looking to improve their situation through educational opportunities.

Local Chapters of EWI partner with educational providers and social services agencies to identify potential ASIST candidates.  Students first apply and compete at the local Chapter level. Chapter-level winners are submitted to the
corporate level for the opportunity to be selected for one of thirteen scholarships
ranging from $2,000 to $10,000.

Application Process

Download the ASIST Application here. ASIST is coordinated by the participating EWI Chapters (listed below). Each Chapter has its own deadline date for submitting an application, so please contact your local Chapter to obtain their timeline for the application process. Applicants must apply through a local Chapter and reside in Chapter boundaries.

Participating Chapters

  • EWI of Birmingham: Robin Warren –
    Blount, Jefferson, Shelby, St. Clair, Tuscaloosa, and Walker Counties
  • EWI of Chicago: Maria N. Simon –
    Cook County
  • EWI of Cincinnati: Gail Billings –
    Butler, Clermont, Hamilton, Warren, Clark, Darke, Greene, Miami, Montgomery, and Preble Counties
  • EWI of Colorado Springs: Joan Taylor –
    El Paso and Teller Counties
  • EWI of Columbus: Joan Orndorff –
    Union, Delaware, Franklin, Licking, Fairfield, Pickaway, and Madison Counties
  • EWI of Corpus Christi: Laura Hausman –
    Arkansas, Bee, Jim Wills, Kleberg, Live Oak, Nueces, Refugio, and San Patricio Counties
  • EWI of Dallas: Corriana Anthony –
    Collin, Dallas, and Tarrant Counties
  • EWI of Denver: Melody Ambrose –
    Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Denver, Jefferson, and Weld Counties
  • EWI of Des Moines: Deanna Dunn –
    Dallas, Polk, Story, and Warren Counties
  • EWI of Fort Wayne: Lisa Fabian –
    Adams, Allen, De Kalb, Huntington, Jay, Kascuisko, Noble, Steuben, Wells, and Whitley Counties, IN; Paulding and Van Wert Counties, OH
  • EWI of Harrisburg: Kimberly E. McLain –
    Cumberland, Dauphin, Lancaster, Lebanon, Perry, and York Counties
  • EWI of Honolulu: Wanda Sanchez –
    Natural water boundaries surrounding all the islands within the state of Hawaii
  • EWI of Houston: Marji Zamora –
    Brazoria, Chamgers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, Waller, Walker, and Wharton Counties
  • EWI of Jackson: Cherrita Speech –
    Hinds, Madison, and Rankin Counties
  • EWI of Kansas City: Veronica R. Beck –
    Cass, Clay, Jackson, Lafayette, and Platte Counties, MO; Johnson, Leavenworth, Miami, and Wyadotte Counties, KS
  • EWI of Knoxville: Peggy Wilson –
    Anderson, Blount, Knox, Roane, and Sevier Counties
  • EWI of Los Angeles: Sherrie Carr –
    Los Angeles County with some exclusions
  • EWI of Memphis: Tracey Foldenauer –
    Shelby, Fayette and Tipton Counties, TN; DeSoto and Tunica Counties, MS; Crittenden, St. Francis, Lee and Phillips Counties AR
  • EWI of Minneapolis: Beverly L Kennedy –
    Anoka, Carver, Hennepin, and Scott Counties
  • EWI of Mobile: Barbara J. Shirvanian –
    Mobile and Baldwin Counties
  • EWI of Nashville: Tammy Fogarty – | Jamey S. Taylor –
    Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Maury, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Sumner, Williamson, and Wilson Counties
  • EWI of New Orleans: Nita Liggio –
    Metropolitan area and River Region, Orleans, Jefferson, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Tammany, and St. John Parishes
  • EWI of Northwest Arkansas: Kai Dare –
    Benton and Washington Counties
  • EWI of Oklahoma City: Judie Harris –
    Canadian, Cleveland, Kingfisher, Lincoln, Logan, McClain, Oklahoma, and Pottawatomie Counties
  • EWI of Philadelphia: Sylvia Spivey –
    Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia Counties, PA; Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester Counties, NJ; Wilmington County, DE
  • EWI of Phoenix: Leslie A. Kanda –
    Maricopa County
  • EWI of Pomona Valley: Suzanne M. Graves –
    Riverside, San Bernardino, and a portion of Los Angeles County
  • EWI of Richmond: Brenda G. Long –
    Cities of Richmond, Colonial Heights, Williamsburg, Hopewell, Petersburg and Town of Ashland; Chesterfield, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, New Kent, Powhatan, and Caroline Counties, VA
  • EWI of Saint Paul: Jennifer S. Yarusso –
    Dakota, Ramsey, and Washington Counties
  • EWI of San Diego: Jamie Fleming –
    San Diego County
  • EWI of Seattle: Kayla Didier –
    King and Snohomish Counties
  • EWI of Spokane: Nancy Ledeboer –
    Spokane County, WA and Kootenai County, ID
  • EWI of Tacoma: Nancy Harris –
    Kitsap, Pierce, and Thurston Counties
  • EWI of Tucson: Lisa Yaeger –
    Pima County
  • EWI of Tulsa: Tonya Jimenez –
    Creek, Osage, Rogers, Tulsa, and Wagoner Counties
  • EWI of Washington DC: Suzette Smith –
    Inside the Capital Beltway plus a 40-mile radius beyond the Beltway, including the cities of Annapolis, Baltimore, Rockville, MD; Fredericksburg, Leesburg, VA
  • EWI of Wichita: Stacy Guinn – | Lisa Capps –
    Sedgwick, Sumner, Cowley, Butler, Harvey, and Reno Counties