ASIST Scholarship

General Information

ASIST-Logo-webThe Adult Students in Scholastic Transition (ASIST) is available to adults facing economic, social, or physical challenges, who are looking to improve their situation through educational opportunities.

Local Chapters of EWI partner with educational providers and social services agencies to identify potential ASIST candidates.  Students first apply and compete at the local Chapter level. Chapter-level winners are submitted to the corporate level for the opportunity to be selected for one of thirteen scholarships ranging from $2,000 to $10,000.

Application Process

ASIST is coordinated by the participating EWI Chapters (listed below). Each Chapter has its own deadline date for submitting an application, so please contact your local Chapter to obtain their timeline for the application process. Applicants must apply through a local Chapter and reside in Chapter boundaries.

  ASIST Application

Participating Chapters

  • Birmingham - Martha Gorham: mgorham@realtysouth.com or martha2marthagortham.com
    Blount, Jefferson, Shelby, St. Clair, Tuscaloosa, Walker, and Talladega Counties
  • Calgary - Francis Esler: fran.b@telus.net
    City of Calgary
  • Chattanooga - Rebecca Bishop: rebecca.bishop@reliancepartners.com
    Bradley, Catoosa, Dade, Hamilton, Marion, Sequatchie, and Walker Counties
  • Cincinnati - Sherry Vaughn: Sherry.vaughn@jmsmucker.com
    Ohio: Butler, Clermont, Hamilton, Warren, Clarke, Darke, Greene, Miama, Montgomery, and Preble Counties
    Kentucky: Campbell and Kenton Counties
    Indiana: Dearborn & Wayne Counties
  • Colorado Springs – Joan Taylor: jtaylor@ent.com
    El Paso County
  • Columbus - Chris Potelicki: chris@skylineohio.com
    Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, LIcking, Madison, Pickaway, and Union Counties
  • Dallas - Corraina Anthony: canthony@americanairlinescenter.com
    Colin, Dallas, and Tarrant Counties
  • Denver - Carol Miliotes: cmiliotes@claritymg.com
    Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Denver, Jefferson, and Weld Counties
  • Des Moines – Deanna Dunn: deanna.dunn@adeccona.com
    Dallas, Polk, Story, and Warran Counties
  • Detroit-Windsor - Jo Ann Allen Nyquist: jnquistj@gmail.com
    Michigan: Macomb, Okland, and Wayne Counties
    Windsor, Ontario Canada
  • Ft. Wayne – Lisa Fabian: lfabian@abouteducation.org
    Adams, Allen, Dekalb, Huntington, Jay, Kascuisko, Noble, Steuben, Wells, Whitley, Paulding and Van Wert Counties
  • Grande Prairie – Kristen Yaceyko: kristen@discoveryfinancial.ca
    Hythe, Rycroft, Sexsmith, Spirit River, Wembley, Bezanson, Buffalo Lake, Clairmont, Crooked Creek, Debolt, Dimsdale, Elmworth, Goodfare, Grovedale, Huallen, La Glace, Peoria, Teepee Creek, Valhalla Centre, Woking
  • Hampton Roads – Carolene Goodwyn-Harris: carolenegharris@aol.com
    Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach Counties
  • Harrisburg – Nancy E. Varricchio: nvarricchio@gfnet.com
    Cumberland, Dauphin, Lancaster, Lebanon, Perry, and York Counties
  • Honolulu – Adele K. Tasaka: atasaka@hvcb.org
    Natural water boundaries surrounding all the islands within the state of Hawaii
  • Houston – Stacey Spears: stacey.spears@houstonsymphony.org
    Brazoria, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, Waller, Walker, and Warton Counties
  • Huntsville – Barbara Zeitler: bkzeitler@gmail.com
    Jackson, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marshall, and Morgan Counties
  • Jackson – Suzanne Sullivan: ssullivan@belhaven.edu
    Hinds, Madison, and Rankin Counties
  • Kansas City – Vernita Beck: vernita.beck@commercebank.com
    Greater Kansas City area north and east along line between Platte City and Excelsion Springs, west to Eudora, south to Archie and all cities included in that block
  • Kentuckiana – Melissa Emery: melissaemery@philrichlaw.com
    Kentucky: Bullitt, Hardin, Jefferson, Nelson, Oldham, Shelby, and Spencer Counties
    Indiana: Clarke, Floyd, and Scott Counties
  • Knoxville – Samantha Chittum: samantha.chittum@knoxcounty.org
    Anderson, Blount, Knox, Roane, and Sevier Counties
  • Lehigh Valley – Deb Corcoran: psudeb@verizon.net
    Bucks, Berks, Carbon, Lehigh, Northampton, and Warren Counties
  • Los Angeles – Marisu Jimenez: marisu.jimenez@caltech.edu
    Los Angeles County with some exclusions
  • Memphis – Lisa Johnson: lisa.johnson@ey.com
    DeSoto, MS and Shelby, TN
  • Milwaukee – Jane Lawler: janel@mbm-idt.com
    Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington, and Waukesha Counties
  • Minneapolis – Lisa G. Hamilton: lisa.hamilton@carlson.com
    Anoka, Carver, Hennepin, and Scott Counties
  • Mobile – Brenda Carlisle: bcarlisle@bgcsouthal.org
    Baldwin and Mobile Counties
  • Nashville – Lisa Johnson: ljohnson@mmc.edu
    Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, maury, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Sumner, Williamson, and Wilson Counties
  • New Orleans – Candice Herrington: cherrington@gjbs.com
    Metropolitan area and river region, Orleans, Jefferson, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Tammany, and St. John Counties
  • Northwest Arkansas – Kai Dare: kdare@sbofa.com
    Benton and Washington Counties
  • Oklahoma City – Judie Harris: jharris@francistuttle.edu
    Canadian, Cleveland, Kingfisher, Lincoln, Logan, McClain, Oklahoma, and Pottawatomie Counties
  • Philadelphia – Sylvia T. Spivey: sspivey@philafound.org
    Pennsylvania: Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia Counties
    New Jersey: Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester Counties
    Delaware: Wilmington County
  • Phoenix – Lisa Fischer: elisafischer@cox.net
    Maricopa County
  • Pomona Valley – Jaenene Maldonado: jrconsult@verizon.net
    Inland Empire & San Gabriel Valley
  • Richmond – Deborah P. Clark: clarkd01@universalleaf.com
    Cities of Colonial Heights, Hopewell, Petersburg, Richmond and Williamsburg, and the Counties of Amelia, Charles City, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, Louisa, New Kent, Powhatan and Prince George
  • Saint Paul – Amy Englund Wood: amy.englund@comcast.net
    Dakota, Ramsey, and Washington Counties
  • Salt Lake City – Cynthia Hagen: cynthia.m.hagen@wellsfargo.com
    Davis, Salt Lake, Summit, Utah, Weber, and Wasatch Counties
  • San Antonio – Maryellen Owen: maryellen@moodtexas.com
    Atacosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, Kendall, Medina, and Wilson Counties
  • Seattle – Danielle Lay: danielleml27@yahoo.com
    King and Snohomish Counties
  • Shreveport-Bossier City – Laura Terry: laura.terry@deepsouthequipment.com
    Bossier and Caddo Counties
  • Spokane – Jessica Hendricks: jessical.l.johnson@ricoh-usa.com
    Washington: Spokane County
    Idaho: Kootenai County
  • Tucson – Nancy R. Stephan: nstephan@pdscpas.com
    Pima County
  • Tulsa – Tonya Jimenez: tonya.jimenez@jqh.com
    Creek, Osage, Rogers, and Tulsa Counties
  • Washington DC – Martin Smith: martinsmith@bestmessenger.net
    Inside the Capital Beltway, 40-mile radius beyond the Beltway, Annapolis, Baltimore, and Rockville Counties
    Virginia: Fredericksburg and Leesburg Counties
  • Wichita – Mona Kepley: mkepley@unitedwayplains.org
    Sumner, Cowley, Butler, harvey, Reno, and Sedgwick Counties