ASIST Scholarship

General Information

ASIST-Logo-webThe Adult Students in Scholastic Transition (ASIST) is available to adults facing economic, social, or physical challenges, who are looking to improve their situation through educational opportunities.

Local Chapters of EWI partner with educational providers and social services agencies to identify potential ASIST candidates.  Students first apply and compete at the local Chapter level. Chapter-level winners are submitted to the
corporate level for the opportunity to be selected for one of thirteen scholarships
ranging from $2,000 to $10,000.

Application Process

Download the ASIST Application here. ASIST is coordinated by the participating EWI Chapters (listed below). Each Chapter has its own deadline date for submitting an application, so please contact your local Chapter to obtain their timeline for the application process. Applicants must apply through a local Chapter and reside in Chapter boundaries.

Participating Chapters

  • EWI of Albuquerque: Sandra McGinnis – globalcopyediting@gmail.com
    Bernalilo, Sandoval, Torrance, and Valencia Counties
  • EWI of Birmingham: Robin Warren – rwarren@obsurvus.com
    Blount, Jefferson, Shelby, St. Clair, Tuscaloosa, and Walker Counties
  • EWI of Boise: Lori Brown – brown@boisecentre.com
    Ada and Canyon Counties
  • EWI of Calgary: Michelle Goshinmon – mgoshinmon@gmail.com
    City of Calgary
  • EWI of Chattanooga: Tammy Hargis – thargis@mcollins.com
    Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Maury, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Sumner, Williamson, and Wilson Counties
  • EWI of Chicago: Maria N. Simon – maria.simon@combined.com
    Chicago Metropolitan area, which is defined as Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will Counties
  • EWI of Cincinnati: Gail Billings – edibles1@fuse.net
    Butler, Clermont, Hamilton, Warren, Clark, Darke, Greene, Miami, Montgomery, and Preble Counties
  • EWI of Colorado Springs: Joan Taylor – taylor@ent.com
    El Paso and Teller Counties
  • EWI of Columbus: Joan Orndorff – jorndorff@castoinfo.com
    Union, Delaware, Franklin, Licking, Fairfield, Pickaway, and Madison Counties
  • EWI of Corpus Christi: Laura Hausman – laurita@northernbeef.com
    Arkansas, Bee, Jim Wills, Kleberg, Live Oak, Nueces, Refugio, and San Patricio Counties
  • EWI of Dallas: Corriana Anthony – canthony@dallaschamber.org
    Collin, Dallas, and Tarrant Counties
  • EWI of Denver: Melody Ambrose – melody.ambrose@ch2m.com
    Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Denver, Jefferson, and Weld Counties
  • EWI of Des Moines: Deanna Dunn – deanna.dunn@adeccona.com
    Dallas, Polk, Story, and Warren Counties
  • EWI of Detroit-Windsor: Virginia Allen – valan@experiencedmg.com
    Macom, Oakland, and Wayne, MI; Windsor, Ontario
  • EWI of Fort Wayne: Lisa Fabian – lfabian@abouteducation.org
    Adams, Allen, De Kalb, Huntington, Jay, Kascuisko, Noble, Steuben, Wells, and Whitley Counties, IN; Paulding and Van Wert Counties, OH
  • EWI of Harrisburg: Kimberly E. McLain – kmclain@drivekore.com
    Cumberland, Dauphin, Lancaster, Lebanon, Perry, and York Counties
  • EWI of Honolulu: Wanda Sanchez – wanda.sanchez@boh.com
    Natural water boundaries surrounding all the islands within the state of Hawaii
  • EWI of Houston: Marji Zamora – marji.ewi@printhouston.com
    Brazoria, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, Waller, Walker, and Wharton Counties
  • EWI of Huntsville: Valora Gurganious – vgurganious@drsmgmt.com
    Jackson, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marshall, and Morgan Counties
  • EWI of Jackson: Cherrita Speech – cspeech@mdes.ms.gov
    Hinds, Madison, and Rankin Counties
  • EWI of Kansas City: Veronica R. Beck – vernita.beck@commercebank.com
    Cass, Clay, Jackson, Lafayette, and Platte Counties, MO; Johnson, Leavenworth, Miami, and Wyadotte Counties, KS
  • EWI of Kentuckiana: Christy Smallwood – christy@arkhamexec.com
    Bullitt, Hardin, Jefferson, Nelson, Oldham, Shelby, and Spencer Counties, KY; Clark, Floyd, and Scott Counties, IN
  • EWI of Knoxville: Peggy Wilson – wilson@pstcc.edu
    Anderson, Blount, Knox, Roane, and Sevier Counties
  • EWI of Lehigh Valley: Deb Corcoran – deb@debandjoe.com
    Bucks, Berks, Carbon, Lehigh, Northampton, and Warren Counties
  • EWI of Los Angeles: Sherrie Carr – sherrie.carr@eastwestbank.com
    Los Angeles County with some exclusions
  • EWI of Memphis: Tracey Foldenauer – tracey.foldenauer@ameripride.com
    Shelby, Fayette and Tipton Counties, TN; DeSoto and Tunica Counties, MS; Crittenden, St. Francis, Lee and Phillips Counties, AR
  • EWI of Milwaukee: Julie Frey – jafrey@uwm.edu
    Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington, and Waukesha Counties
  • EWI of Minneapolis: Beverly L Kennedy – millie0712@aol.com
    Anoka, Carver, Hennepin, and Scott Counties
  • EWI of Mobile: Barbara J. Shirvanian – bshirvanian@southalabama.edu
    Mobile and Baldwin Counties
  • EWI of Nashville: Tammy Fogarty – tammy.fogarty@stites.com | Jamey S. Taylor – jstaylor@dsco.nashville.org
    Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Maury, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Sumner, Williamson, and Wilson Counties
  • EWI of New Orleans: Nita Liggio – nliggio@agldesigns.com
    Metropolitan area and River Region, Orleans, Jefferson, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Tammany, and St. John Parishes
  • EWI of Northwest Arkansas: Kai Dare – kdare@SBOFA.com
    Benton and Washington Counties
  • EWI of Oklahoma City: Judie Harris – ljarris@francistuttle.edu
    Canadian, Cleveland, Kingfisher, Lincoln, Logan, McClain, Oklahoma, and Pottawatomie Counties
  • EWI of Omaha: Cheryl McCall – cmccall@accessbank.com
    Douglas, Sarpy, and Washington Counties, NE; Harrison, Mills, and Pottawattamie Counties, IA
  • EWI of Philadelphia: Sylvia Spivey – sspivey@philafound.org
    Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia Counties, PA; Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester Counties, NJ; Wilmington County, DE
  • EWI of Phoenix: Leslie A. Kanda – leslie.kanda@gmail.com
    Maricopa County
  • EWI of Pomona Valley: Suzanne M. Graves – sgraves@suzannegraves.com
    Riverside, San Bernardino, and a portion of Los Angeles County
  • EWI of Richmond: Brenda G. Long – brenda.long@dom.com
    Cities of Richmond, Colonial Heights, Williamsburg, Hopewell, Petersburg and Town of Ashland; Chesterfield, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, New Kent, Powhatan, and Caroline Counties, VA
  • EWI of Saint Paul: Jennifer S. Yarusso – jencares@icareinsurance.comcastbiz.net
    Dakota, Ramsey, and Washington Counties
  • EWI of Salt Lake City: Cynthia Hagen – cynthiam.mhagen@wellsfargo.com
    Davis, Salt Lake, Summit, Utah, Weber and Wasatch Counties
  • EWI of San Antonio: Maryellen Owen – maryellen@moodtexas.com
    Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, Kendall, Medina, and Wilson Counties
  • EWI of San Diego: Jamie Fleming – jamiefleming@flemingandassociatesllc.com
    San Diego County
  • EWI of Seattle: Kayla Didier – kdidier@alliant.com
    King and Snohomish Counties
  • EWI of Shreveport-Bossier City: Samantha Cowan-Lynch – samantha.lynch@libertymutual.com
  • EWI of Spokane: Nancy Ledeboer – nledeboer@scld.org
    Spokane County, WA and Kootenai County, ID
  • EWI of Tacoma: Nancy Harris – nancy.harris@regence.com
    Kitsap, Pierce, and Thurston Counties
  • EWI of Tucson: Lisa Yaeger – lyaeger@gabroylaw.com
    Pima County
  • EWI of Tulsa: Tonya Jimenez – tony.jimenez@jqh.com
    Creek, Osage, Rogers, Tulsa, and Wagoner Counties
  • EWI of Washington DC: Suzette Smith – suzette@whitespaceorganizing.com
    Inside the Capital Beltway plus a 40-mile radius beyond the Beltway, including the cities of Annapolis, Baltimore, Rockville, MD; Fredericksburg, Leesburg, VA
  • EWI of Wichita: Stacy Guinn – sguinn@bizjournals.com | Lisa Capps – lcapps@kansas.wish.org
    Sedgwick, Sumner, Cowley, Butler, Harvey, and Reno Counties