ASIST Scholarship

General Information

ASIST-Logo-webThe Adult Students in Scholastic Transition (ASIST) is available to adults facing economic, social, or physical challenges, who are looking to improve their situation through educational opportunities. Local Chapters of EWI partner with educational providers and social services agencies to identify potential ASIST candidates.  Students first apply and compete at the local Chapter level. Chapter-level winners are submitted to the corporate level for the opportunity to be selected for one of thirteen scholarships ranging from $2,000 to $10,000. Applicants must live within 50 miles of their local Chapter boundary to be eligible.   ASIST Scholarship Application

Applications are closed. Please check back in January 2017.

Participating Chapters

  • EWI of Albuquerque: Rachel Justus – asistabq@gmail.com Bernalilo, Sandoval, Torrance, and Valencia Counties
  • EWI of Birmingham: Nancy Covert – nancy_covert@dalecarnegie.com Blount, Jefferson, Shelby, St. Clair, Tuscaloosa, and Walker Counties
  • EWI of Calgary: Fran Esler – fran.b@telus.net City of Calgary
  • EWI of Chattanooga: Kristina H. Smith – khlsmith@firsttennessee.com Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Maury, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Sumner, Williamson, and Wilson Counties
  • EWI of Columbus: Karen Gilbert – ksgilbert13@gmail.com Union, Delaware, Franklin, Licking, Fairfield, Pickaway, and Madison Counties
  • EWI of Corpus Christi: Laura Hausman – laurita@northernbeef.com Arkansas, Bee, Jim Wills, Kleberg, Live Oak, Nueces, Refugio, and San Patricio Counties
  • EWI of Dallas: Corriana Anthony – canthony@dallaschamber.org Collin, Dallas, and Tarrant Counties
  • EWI of Denver: Melody Ambrose – melody.ambrose@ch2m.com Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Elbert Gilpin, Jefferson, Larimer, Park, Summit, and Weld Counties
  • EWI of Detroit-Windsor: Renea Callery – reneaewi@gmail.com Macom, Oakland, and Wayne, MI; Windsor, Ontario
  • EWI of Des Moines: Sarah Roeder – sroeder@lightedge.com Dallas, Polk, Story, and Warren Counties
  • EWI of Honolulu: Roseann Freitas –  roseann@archipelagohawaii.com Natural water boundaries surrounding all the islands within the state of Hawaii
  • EWI of Houston: Lilly Portales – lportales@austinindl.com Brazoria, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, Waller, Walker, and Wharton Counties
  • EWI of Huntsville:  Michelle Rhode –  michelle@afsrepair.com,  Angela Shiflett –  w356mbr@costco.com Jackson, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marshall, and Morgan Counties
  • EWI of Kansas City: Vernita R. Beck – vernita.beck@commercebank.com Cass, Clay, Jackson, Lafayette, and Platte Counties, MO; Johnson, Leavenworth, Miami, and Wyandotte Counties, KS
  • EWI of Kentuckiana: Christy Smallwood – christy@arkhamexec.com Bullitt, Hardin, Jefferson, Nelson, Oldham, Shelby, and Spencer Counties, KY; Clark, Floyd, and Scott Counties, IN
  • EWI of Knoxville: Peggy Wilson – wilson@pstcc.edu Anderson, Blount, Knox, Roane, and Sevier Counties
  • EWI of Lehigh Valley: Jennifer Ceneviva – jennifer.ceneviva@hotmail.com, Deborah Perini – dperinia@psecu.com Bucks, Berks, Carbon, Lehigh, Northampton, and Warren Counties
  • EWI of Los Angeles: Angela Stern – angela.stern@mercer.com,  Sherrie Carr – sherrie.carr@eastwestbank.com Los Angeles County with some exclusions
  • EWI of Memphis: Krissie Heuer – kheuer@bec-memphis.com
    Shelby, Fayette and Tipton Counties, TN; DeSoto and Tunica Counties, MS; Crittenden, St. Francis, Lee and Phillips Counties, AR
  • EWI of Milwaukee: Rachel Adas – racheladas@harderfuneralhome.com Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington, and Waukesha Counties
  • EWI of Minneapolis: Jen Baltrusch – jen.baltrusch@cerner.com Anoka, Carver, Hennepin, and Scott Counties
  • EWI of Mobile: Elise Phillips –  elise.phillips@airbus.com Mobile and Baldwin Counties
  • EWI of Nashville: Jamey S. Taylor – jstaylor@dcso.nashville.org Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Maury, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Sumner, Williamson, and Wilson Counties
  • EWI of Oklahoma City: Judie Harris – jharris@francistuttle.edu Canadian, Cleveland, Kingfisher, Lincoln, Logan, McClain, Oklahoma, and Pottawatomie Counties
  • EWI of Omaha: Janet Schawang – jschawang@aoicorp.com Douglas, Sarpy, and Washington Counties, NE; Harrison, Mills, and Pottawattamie Counties, IA
  • EWI of Phoenix: Kathy Gunn – Kathleen.gunn@asu.edu Maricopa County
  • EWI of Richmond: Jamie Stillman – jmstillman@vcu.edu Cities of Richmond, Colonial Heights, Williamsburg, Hopewell, Petersburg and Town of Ashland; Chesterfield, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, New Kent, Powhatan, and Caroline Counties, VA
  • EWI of San Antonio: Denise Cross – denise@apflorist.com Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, Wilson, Kendall, Atascosa, Bandera or Medina
  • EWI of Salt Lake City: Jamie Larsen – jslarsen@eidebailly.com Davis, Salt Lake, Summit, Utah, Weber and Wasatch Counties
  • EWI of San Diego: Jamie Fleming – jamiefleming@flemingandassociatesllc.com San Diego County
  • EWI of Seattle: Brenda Galang –  brenda.galang50@gmail.com King and Snohomish Counties
  • EWI of Shreveport-Bossier City: Erica Thomas – Erica@adprospromo.com Bossier, Caddo, Webster; AR and Desoto Parrishes, Harrison County; TX
  • EWI of Spokane:  Hailey Landrus  – hlandrus@stamperlaw.com,  Jessica Hendricks  – jessica@handhsystems.com Spokane County, WA and Kootenai County, ID
  • EWI of Tacoma: Nancy Harris – nancy.harris@regence.com | Lonia Tate-Mason – ltate@benbridge.com Kitsap, Pierce, and Thurston Counties
  • EWI of Tucson:  Judy Parker, DVM –  pimapet@cs.com Pima County
  • EWI of Tulsa:  Nikki Boone – nicki.boone@jgh.com Creek, Osage, Rogers, Tulsa, and Wagoner Counties
  • EWI of Washington DC:  Carol Trageser –  carol.trageser@suntrust.com Inside the Capital beltway plus a 40-mile radius beyond the beltway, including the cities of Annapolis, Baltimore, and Rockville, MD; Fredericksburg and Leesburg, VA
  • EWI of Wichita: Nancy Umholtz – numholtz@deltadentalks.com Sedgwick, Sumner, Cowley, Butler, Harvey, and Reno Counties